Creativity Corner

March 5, 2009

W3 aka the World Wide Wibe

Filed under: Uncategorized — kateraney @ 8:42 pm

I found the article “The World Wide Web” by Berners-Lee very informative. I am an active web user and have grown up with the web, but even I did not know what much of the lingo stood for or how it all came about. I figured that it was invented as a way to distribute information to a mass amount of people. However, I did not know that it was originally used as a way to keep track of information for a project being done in Switzerland. I never knew that HTTP stands for Hypertext Transfer Protocol or that HTML stands for Hyper Text Markup Language. Even after reading this article I’m still not sure if I understand it! I’m not even sure if it’s necessary for me to understand it seeing as how I’ve gone this long without knowing and I have used the computer just fine. As a future teacher I tend to relate everything back to teaching. Sometimes when I’m dealing with information I’m not sure of, it helps me to understand it better. I was thinking about how I do not know much about this scientific computer lingo. I wonder, should students be learning about it? In today’s day and age God knows students are always on the internet, so shouldn’t they know what everything means? Honestly, it was probably only last year that I learned when sending an email CC stand for Carbon Copy (I think) and BC stands for Blind Copy. Who knew? The more I ponder the question, the more I think students should be learning this stuff. Not necessarily in a regular classroom, but definitely in a computer or media class. It’s always good to know what you are dealing with, especially on something as powerful as the internet. And also, students today will be the scientists of tomorrow. If the computer is going to change, they will be the ones to change it. So, knowing more about it will only benefit them, I think.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

