Creativity Corner

March 5, 2009

whats the www?

Filed under: Uncategorized — beachbum87 @ 9:06 pm

 

When I began to read the article, “World Wide Web”, I let out a laugh when I came to the part of the article where the author said, “If you haven’t yet experienced the web, the best way to find out about it is try it.” First of all, his proposition reminded me of when I was 9 years old. Back then, the internet was just becoming popular. I saw a Power-Rangers cartoon and at the end of the commercial it gave a website to go on to play games. Confused as to what the “internet” was, I went on my computer and started typing the web address into some random document. I was pretty disappointed when I found out that I needed the internet to play the games that were shown on the commercial. It is wierd to think that there was a time where I did not know what the internet even was.

Second of all, his suggestion of simply trying out the internet made me realize how much we have advanced in technology since the time this article was written. I do not think I know one single person who hasn’t been on the web. In fact, I couldn’t imagine life without it, unless I was on some beautiful desserted island. Although, I wouldn’t really mind that…

Another part of the article that caught my eye is when the author defines the world wide web. He says its “the idea of a boundless information world in which all items have reference by which they can be retrieved.” I believe the web is, in fact, a world of endless information. Its almost too much to take in when you think of all the possibilities the internet has to offer. It has formed a community, and allows people to interact and learn on a whole new level than the times prior to internet use. The only thing I question is, what will be next? Is there another form of technology approaching us, one that we cannot even imagine?

1 Comment »

  1. I thought the same thing when I read! “If you have not used the web..” I think by now everyone has used. You are right this article must be a little outdated. However, I still not not know a lot of the information presented, such as what HTTP and HTML really meant. What does that say about me? haha

    Comment by kateraney — March 5, 2009 @ 9:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

