Creativity Corner

March 24, 2009

“Who Am We?”

Filed under: Uncategorized — fisa07 @ 12:19 am

This article was interesting to me. I have never really been a big computer user. When my family got our first computer, chat rooms were the “cool” thing. I remember I was never allowed to go into chat rooms because my parents said too many “weird, stalkers” were in them, waiting to prey on innocent children, like me. The thought of someone pretending to be someone else never really made sense to me at the time. When I did go into chat rooms, I did lie about my age too, but I always made myself just a year or two older, never a major deception. The fact that anyone can pretend to be whom ever they wish on the internet is scary. I’m sure many parents have the same fears mine did about sexual predators pretending to be young kids.

Now that I’m older I can see that some people may want to change who they are in the virtual world. To me, this is still a strange concept. It is easy to get caught up in the virtual world I would imagine, which can be a problem. Individuals who do take part in an identity change online need to know when reality begins and ends.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

