Creativity Corner

March 31, 2009

Surveillance

Filed under: Uncategorized — fisa07 @ 4:16 pm

I recently found out that the ads Facebook displays on your page are targeted to the individual. After reading Naked in the ‘Nonopticon’: Surveillance and marketing combine to strip away our privacy, I realized many companies target audiences based on purchases and other “private” things. Facebook and these other companies track websites, searches, and purchases, as well as look at the information you provide them with, to target advertisements to you. Recently I received a catalog in the mail that I did not request and wondered how they got my name and address. The company must have bought my information from another company, or tracked my purchases, either online or through my credit cards, to see my interest in clothing. Many people don’t know how little privacy they actually have, as the article explains. Everything we do is recorded! This can definitely be a scary thing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

