Creativity Corner

April 9, 2009

Hold Onto Imagination

Filed under: Uncategorized — beachbum87 @ 2:18 pm

 

“I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge – that myth is more potent than history. I believe that dreams are more powerful than facts.”- Robert Fulghum

“Everything that is new or uncommon raises a pleasure in the imagination, because it fills the soul with an agreeable surprise, gratifies its curiosity, and gives it an idea of which it was not before possessed.”
Joseph Addison

“Nothing encourages creativity like the chance to fall flat on one’s face.”
James D. Finley

“Our imagination is the only limit to what we can hope to have in the future.”
Charles F. Kettering

“Trust that little voice in your head that says “Wouldn’t it be interesting if..”; And then do it.”
Duane Michals

“People who lean on logic and philosophy and rational exposition end by starving the best part of the mind.”
William Butler Yeats

“I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world. “
Robert Burton

“When I examine myself and my methods of thought, I come close to the conclusion that the gift of fantasy has meant more to me than my talent for absorbing positive knowledge.”
Albert Einstein

“He paints a dolphin in the woods, a boar in the waves.”
Horace

“The function of the imagination is not to make strange things settled, so much as to make settled things strange.”
G. K. Chesterton

“Imagination is the beginning of creation. You imagine what you desire, you will what you imagine and at last you create what you will.”
George Bernard Shaw

I looked around to find some quotes on imagination.  I believe many teachers lose sight of the importance of teaching creativity.  I have had many teachers in my life that focused soley on academics.  I believe that teachers should not only educate on the content area subjects, but also encourage kids to use their imagination and think “outside of the box”.  Whether it be art, or creative play, lesson plans should incorperate imaginative learning! I’m holding onto these quotes for some inspiration…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

